Skip to content

Play: The Literal & Figurative Building Blocks To a Lifetime of Independent Thinking

  • Uncategorized

Play is the root foundation of learning.

Play evokes curiosity, motivation, and naturalistic learning opportunitites.

Developmentally Appropriate Practices focus on 4 domains of development from Birth to Age 8.

Domains of Child Development

  • Social
  • Emotional
  • Cognitive
  • Physical

If we want long term school success we need to spend early years in play-based relationship- based hands-on, educational environments.

We’ve been culturally brainwashed in the U.S. to believe that counting to 50 is more important for a 6 year old than knowing how to get his shovel back in the sandbox.

We focus so much on the importance of 20th century skills otherwise known as “soft skills” which are learned while children are playing. If we have cognitive skills but lack interpersonal skills then our cognitive skills will be unable to manage.

Everything we do as Early Educators is equally weighted in all four domains. For example, when a child is playing with Legos, he is touching upon each domain.

Social: Asking a peer for a green block. Building together as a group.

Emotional: Tolerating the upset that occurs when your building breaks or falls down. Establishing the determination to try again.

Cognitive: Which block formations create a strong building

Physical: Fine motor skills

Discover more from Skate Motivate Educate

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading